Mysore, July 4 (DV)- Vasan-thakumari of Sindhuvalli constituency has been elected unopposed as the President of Mysore Taluk Panchayat and Yashodamma of Yelwal constituency as Vice-President.

The election was held at a special meeting organised in the auditorium of Taluk Panchayat on Friday and these two will be in power for the remaining eight months period.

The post of the President was reserved for a woman candidate belonging to Scheduled Caste and that of Vice-President for a woman from General Category.

According to Congress Internal agreement, Shivamma was the President and Shivaratna the Vice-President for the first eight months.

According to party orders, the duo resigned and accordingly, elections were held for these two posts. Social Justice Committee President M.T. Ravikumar was temporarily holding the post of the President.

Assistant Commissioner D. Bharathi was the Election Officer.

MLA M. Satyanarayana, ZP former President K. Marigowda, ZP members Nalini Vijayaraje Urs, Taluk Panchayat former President Siddaramegowda, Acting President M.T. Ravikumar and Gopalpur Basavanna who were present at the meeting, congratulated the new President and Vice-President.

Courtesy : Star Of Mysore