The Dasara Navaratri festival has been an age-old tradition since the rule of Vijayanagar empire. And, Sri Yoganarasimhaswamy had been the presiding deity during their rule. The Wadiyars of Mysore carried on the rich tradition and brought it to Mysore. Since then, the Dasara, also known as ‘Naada Habba,’ is celebrated in a grand manner for 9 days in city.

This year, city’s Sri Yoganarasimhaswamy Temple, built by Prof. Bhashyam Swamiji, will celebrate Dasara Jatha and Navaratri Brahmothsav from Oct. 4 to 15 at the temple premises in Vijayanagar 1st Stage.

Many renowned artistes will perform at the temple premises as part of the festivities everyday. Special alankaras and processions will be held everyday at 7 pm. Cultural programmes will be held at the temple premises at 7 pm from Oct. 4 to 11:

Oct. 4- Saxophone recital by Vid. Kadri Rameshnath and troupe; Oct. 5- Vocal recital by Vid. R.K. Prasanna Kumar and troupe; Oct. 6- Bhakti Sangeetha Rasadhare, vocal recital by Vid. Dr. Vidyabhushana and troupe; Oct. 7- Vocal recital by Vid. B.R. Nagashruthi and party; Oct. 8- Bhaktigaanamrutha by Vid. Putturu Narasimha Nayak and party; Oct. 9- Daasavani by Vid. N. Srinath and party; Oct.10- Flute Jugalbandi by Pt. Pravin Godkhindi and Shadaj Godkhindi with Pt. Kiran Godkhindi on Tabala; Oct. 11- Bharatanatya by Dr. Seeta Kote, 6pm; followed by Bhaktigeete by Vid. Shashidhar Kote and troupe at 7 pm; Oct. 12- Vocal duet by Vid. Dr. C.A. Gurudutt and Dr. C.A. Nataraj; Oct. 13- Veena recital by Vid. R.K. Padmanabha and troupe; Oct. 14- Daasara padagalu by Pt. Vishwanatha Nakod and troupe; Oct. 15- Bhakthi Sangeetha by Vidu. Nagavalli Nagaraj and Vidu. Ranjini Vasuki and troupe.

Also, bharatanatya recital, other music programmes, lalita sahasranama, devaranama and bhajans will be rendered by renowned artistes and bhajana mandali troupes on all the days from 5 pm to 7 pm.

On Vijayadashami, the last day of Navaratri, Sudarshana homa will be performed at the temple premises at 7 am. Chief Minister Siddharamaiah will perform the Poornahuti at 12 noon in the presence of Prof. Bhashyam Swamiji and other guests.

For more details, contact N. Srinivasan, Administrator, Sri Yoganarasimhaswamy Temple on Mob: 99004-00000.

Courtesy : Star Of Mysore