MP Viswanath, MLA Sreenivasa Prasad, Mayor Sandesh Swamy take part

Mysore, May 30 (MTY&SH)- The protest stir and relay hunger strike by the pourakarmikas of Mysore City Corporation having completed six days yesterday, the workers have decided to stall the cleaning work in city tomorrow and stage a broomstick show.

The hunger strike being staged by pourakarmikas, urging the govt. for meeting their various demands including regularising their jobs, has now got the support of MP H. Viswanath, MLA Sreenivasa Prasad, Mayor Sandesh Swamy and writer Devanur Mahadev and other dignitaries.

Addressing the agitating workers infront of City Corporation, Narayana, former Mayor and Hon. President of Pourakarmikara Sangha under whose aegis the stir has been organised, declared that the stir would be intensified from Monday.

"Mysore has been declared as the second cleanest city in the country only because of the hard work put in by pourakarmikas. But neither the Government nor the Mysore City Corporation is responding adequately to their efforts. Pourakarmikas are facing a number of problems and being denied many facilities," he said.

"Contract workers should be made permanent. Special package should be provided to contract workers on underground drainage work. All the provisions available to retired government employees should also be made available to permanent civic workers. They should be given free sites and Yashaswini scheme should be implemented," he urged. The agitation by pourakar-mikas will be intensified in stages and broomstick procession will be taken out on Monday from the Town Hall to the Deputy Commissioner's Office, Nara-yana said and appealed for support from all organisations.

Andolana Editor Rajashekar Koti, Samajawadi Party leader P. Mallesh, District JD(S) President K.T. Cheluvegowda, City Congress President C. Dasegowda, District Congress President Sha-ukat Ali Khan, former Mayors Dakshinamurthy, Purushotham, T.B. Chikkanna and Ananthu, Corporators Shivanna and M.G. Ravi Kumar, former Corporators M. Shivanna, Backward Classes Awareness Forum President K.S. Shivaramu, Dalit Sangharsha Samithi leader Harihara Anandaswamy, Laxman Hosakote, Uppara Sangha President Manjunath, advocates Arun Kumar and K.R. Mohan Kumar took part in the stir.

N. Mara, President, Pourakarmikas Sangha and office-bearers were present.

Courtesy : Star Of Mysore