Mysore, Sept. 23 (BRS&AB)- An online Kannada MBA Course will soon be launched by Karna-taka State Open University (KSOU), disclosed Prof. K.S. Rangappa, Vice-Chancellor of KSOU.

He was speaking while presiding over the function to release 10 publications of Prasaranga in Tungabhadra Hall of KSOU here yesterday.

New courses on Computer Science (CS), Law (LLM), Science and Mathematics being offered by the Open University had met with huge response, he said. Kannada online diploma courses are also being offered by the University. More courses have been planned at the Open University in association with Kannada Sahitya Parishat, he disclosed.

Speaking on the occasion, Prof. Nallur Prasad, President of Kannada Sahitya Parishat, observed that KSOU gives an opportunity for thousands of students who are working in various fields to continue their studies.

While people are ready to buy and read books, the books should have quality, he said adding that Prasaranga should publish serious books instead of becoming a commercial publisher. Kannada Sahitya Parishat sells 40 lakh such books annually, he disclosed.

It would be difficult to find authors with sound knowledge about classical literature after 20 years, he said expressing anxiety that good books may not be written in future times.

Publications with titles GTN's Science Writings by Dr. V.P. Radhakrishna, G.S. Gai's Research Articles by Dr. T.V. Venkatachala Shastri, Karnataka Puratatva: Some studies by K.S. Hegde, Sourashakthi by D.R. Baluragi, Kavya Tatvartha Meemamse by Prof. Ra.Gow, Pampa: Ondu Olanota by Dr. C.P.Krishna Kumar, Abhijatha Kalavida Chittani by G.S. Bhatta, Empowerment of Women Through Distance Education by Dr. Nirmala C. Prakash were released.

Nrupatunga Awardees

Mysore, Sept. 23- Nallur Prasad, President of Kannada Sahitya Parishat, disclosed here that Nrupatunga Award will be presented to Dr. C.P. Krishnakumar and Devanur Mahadev.

The award, instituted by BMTC, carries a cash of Rs. 5 lakh and one. The prize amount will be shared by the two writers.

Courtesy : Star Of Mysore