Information Minister Santosh Lad will inaugurate this year’s Dasara Film Festival at Kalamandira in city on Oct. 5 at 12.30 pm.

Disclosing this to news persons at a press conference at Vartha Bhavan on Vinobha road in city yesterday, Dasara Film Festival Sub-Committee President Meena Thoogudeepa Srinivas said that Sandalwood stars Upendra, Priyanka, Darshan, Vinodraj, Aindritha Ray, Diganth and others will participate in the eight-day film festival to be held from Oct. 5 and 12.

Continuing, she said that Housing Minister M.H. Ambareesh, Kannada and Culture Minister Umashree, actor turned politician Ramya, producers Parvathamma Rajkumar, senior artists B. Sarojadevi, Leelavathi, Tara, Music Directors Harikrishna and Gurukiran and Karnataka Film Chamber of Commerce President B. Vijayakumar will be the chief guests at the venue which has been named after late actor M.P. Shankar.

A total of 75 films would be screened at Scouts and Guides auditorium, Senate Bhavan, three theatres, two screens at two multiplexes and at the Drive-In Theatre to be set up at J.K. Grounds, she said and added that 24 films from directors of international fame like Akira Kurosawa, Werner Herzog, Farid Mehta, Jean-luc Godard will be screened at Scouts and Guides Auditorium out of which three films each will be screened.

Senate Bhavan at Mysore University premises will be screening nationally acclaimed Kannada movies, documentaries and NFDC produced documentaries of 20 minutes duration each during the eight day festival. These films include ‘Jai Bheem Comrade’ by Anand Patvardhan, ‘The Pack’ by Krupakar Senani, ‘Ondanondu Kaladalli’ by Girish Karnad and ‘Pallavi’ by P. Lankesh between 10 am and 2.30 pm.

Popular Kannada films will be screened daily at 10 am at Woodlands, New Opera, Shanthala Theatres and one screen each at DRC and Satyam Multiplexes, she disclosed and added that classic Kannada films Babruvahana, Diggajaru, Nodi Swamy Naavirode Heege, Bhootayyana Maga Ayyu and Sipayi Ramu will be screened at Drive-in Theatre.

Sub-Committee Vice-President Chandru, Dy. Special Officer Yogesh Kuberappa, Working President A.R. Prakash, members Mohammed Ali, Tumbala Prakash, Neelakanta, J. Shivanna, Kalegowda, M.C. Ramesh, Renuka and Amrutha were present.

Courtesy : Star Of Mysore