Inaugural launch on June 1 shifted from Mysore to Tumkur

Owing to the election code of conduct in force in Periyapatna, Mysore city has missed the opportunity of being the first district in the country where the Aadhaar-linked Direct Cash Transfer (DCT) scheme of cash subsidy on cooking gas (LPG) will be launched by the Central Government.

The launch in Mysore city, earlier planned to be done by Petroleum Minister M. Veerappa Moily on June 1, has been postponed by a month to July 1, said HPCL distributor Mehul J. Patel.

The inaugural launch has now been shifted to Tumkur on June 1, to be attended by Prime Minister Dr. Manmohan Singh, UPA Chairperson Sonia Gandhi, Chief Minister Siddharamaiah, Petroleum Minister M. Veerappa Moily and others.

Apart from Mysore and Tumkur, Dharwad is the only district where DCT is to be launched. “In Mysore, the process of Aadhaar linking for DCT is 85% complete while in Tumkur, it is 65% and in Dharwad, it is 45%,” said Mehul Patel and added, “The ‘One Rupee Testing’ — Govt. of India transferring Re. 1 to the accounts of LPG consumers through UIDAI — has been a success.”

Under the DCT scheme, consumers will have to buy cooking gas at the market price which is twice the subsidised price of Rs. 410.50 for a 14.2 kg cylinder.

Initially, 20 districts have been selected all over the country for th DCT scheme. From Sept. 1, only consumers having Aadhaar linked bank accounts will get cash subsidy, while the rest will have to buy LPG at market price. The Centre hopes to save Rs. 8,000 to Rs.10,000 crore per year in LPG after the scheme is rolled out all over the country.

Currently, consumers are entitled to nine LPG cylinder at subsidised rates in a year.

Courtesy : Star Of Mysore