Mysore Nov. 2 (BRS)- Prof. A.V. Narasimhamurthy, who received Rajyotsava award on Monday, has also been honoured by the State with Karnataka Puratatva Ratna Award, to mark the 125th year of inception of Karnataka Archaeology Museum. The award carries Rs. one lakh cash, a memento, shawl and Mysore peta.

Chief Minister B.S. Yeddyurappa will present the award either in Bangalore or Mysore, according to sources in the Department of Archeology, who said the date has not been fixed yet.

Speaking to SOM, Prof. Narasimhamurthy said he complemented the State Govt. for recognising the Department of Archaeology, through the award.

The Department was created in 1884 for the first time in the country and the award too been announced for the first time, he disclosed. Prof. S.R. Rao, Prof. Srinivas H. Rithi, Prof. A. Sundar, Dr. M. S. Nagarajarao and Dr. K.V. Ramesh are also among the six archeologists who have been selected for the award.

Courtesy : Star Of Mysore