Thousands of LPG consumers — anxious after yesterday's announcement made by the Central Government that the Direct Cash Transfer (DCT) scheme for domestic consumers of LPG will be launched in Mysore district from Feb. 15 as a pilot project in the country — gathered at the Aadhar centre opposite Town Hall and other Aadhar registration centres [See list on page 8] in city since early this morning to get their names registered under the Aadhar and obtain the 12-digit unique identity number.

Though the scheme had been launched during Feb. 2009, people did not show much interest for yet another number to be possessed and remembered, when it was not mandatory for any of the government schemes.

However, after yesterday’s announcement made by the Union Finance Ministry’s Joint Secretary Neeraj Mittal about the Aadhar number being mandatory to avail the DCT for LPG subsidy, thousands of men, women and even children lined up, eager to get registered at the earliest, lest the deadline pass.

Not being able to cope with the rush, the officials manning the counter were seen issuing tokens as serial numbers to carry out the registration process (including entries of personal data, photos and biometrics) tomorrow or on a later date.

At present, there are 25 Aadhar registration counters in the district, of which 12 are in the city and 13 at the taluk-level revenue offices. Apart from the Aadhar counter in front of the Town Hall, other counters are: all the nine MCC Zonal offices, one at the Senate Hall and one in MCC main building. An official of the Statistical Department, who is in-charge of Aadhar registrations, said that residents must allay their fears as the Aadhar registration will be a continuous process till it is completed 100%.

Apart from the unexpected rush at all the Aadhar centres, heavy rush was seen at the nationalised banks too by people who wanted to open their own savings bank accounts, which too is mandatory under the DCT scheme as the subsidy amount will be transferred to the bank accounts of the consumers.

Consumers will henceforth have to pay full amount for an LPG domestic cylinder and get the excess (subsidy) money reimbursed in bank accounts. Consumers will have to pay Rs. 901 per cylinder from Feb. 15, instead of the present rate of Rs. 410. Consumers now get a maximum of nine cylinders per year at subsidised rates, for which they will get reimbursement of the subsidy amount.

The move is aimed at preventing the misuse of subsidy given to domestic users of LPG cylinders. There are a total of 34 LPG distributors with a customer base of 5.2 lakh in the district. Consumers who haven’t submitted the KYC (Know Your consumer) forms should provide a photo-copy of their Aadhar cards. The consumers should also link their Unique Identification Numbers to their bank accounts.

Neeraj Mittal claimed that a total of 28.58 lakh people have registered under Aadhar in Mysore district, of which 24 lakh people have already received their Aadhar cards. People who haven’t received their Aadhar cards can avail subsidies by giving their Aadhar registration numbers with LPG distributors and banks.

Aadhar at MCC Zonal Offices

The following are the nine MCC Zonal offices where citizens can avail Aadhar Cards:

1. Zonal office No.1 near Akkanabalaga K.R. Mohalla (2418825)

2. Zonal office No.2 near Jayanagara Railway gate (2418821)

3. Zonal office No.3 near Sharadadevi Nagar Circle (2340119)

4. Zonal office No.4 Akashvani Circle, Yadavagiri (2418831)

5. Zonal office No.5 Corporation Building Basavanagudi Circle, Lokanayaka Nagar, Hebbal (2413938)

6. Zonal office No.6. Corporation Revenue Office building, RMC Circle (2418822)

7. Zonal office No.7. Revenue Zonal Office FTS Circle (2418821)

8. Zonal office No.8. Private Bldg of Abdul Jabber MG road, Udayagiri. Opp. Mosque (2457841)

9. Zonal office No.9. Mysore City Corporation Community Hall, 1st Stage, 1st main, Gayathripuram (2418824)