Mysore, July 30 (MTY&KMC)- The 179th Jayanthi of Dewan Rangacharlu will be held at the Town Hall (Rangacharlu Memorial Hall) in city on Aug. 1, under the aegis of Town Hall Committee.

Committee President and Corporator M. Jaishankar Swamy, addressing a press meet at the Town Hall this morning, said that Chetti-pantam Veeravalli Rangacharlu, as Dewan of erstwhile Mysore principality, had greatly patronised fine arts and culture. The Maharaja had constructed the Town Hall during 1885 in memory of the Dewan and also named it after him. Rangacharlu died on June 30, 1883, at the age of 52 years.

Rangacharlu was appointed as the Dewan on March 25, 1881, the same day that the Maharaja ascended the throne.

Cultural programmes will be held as part of Jayanthi celebrations, which will be inaugurated by Mayor Sandesh Swamy.

Member M.V. Ramaprasad, Karnataka Nataka Akademi Member Nagachandra and Assistant Commissioner (Zone 6) T. Thimmappa were present.

Courtesy : Star Of Mysore