The Mysore Railway Station has won the National Tourism Award under the category ‘Tourist-friendly Railway Station’ for the year 2011-12, presented by the Union Ministry of Tourism.

President of India Pranab Mukherji will present these awards in Delhi on Mar. 18.

SWR Divisional Railway Manager Vinod Kumar and Senior Divisional Commercial Manager Dr. Anup Dayanand Sadhu will be receiving this award.

National Tourism awards are presented to various segments of travel and tourism industry every year. These awards are presented in recognition of the performance in their respective fields and also to encourage healthy competition with an aim to promoting tourism.

The Ministry of Tourism will select one station every year under the category ‘Tourist-friendly Railway Station’.

The availability of tourist friendly infrastructure such as retiring rooms, waiting halls/rooms, seating arrangements, eating outlets, general maintenance and upkeep of station, availability of tourist facilitation centres, availability of pre-paid taxi services, eco-friendly measures undertaken, especially rain-water harvesting, facilities for differently-abled passengers at the station, availability of hotel accommodation in the vicinity of the Railway Station, display of proper signage and other noticeable activities at the station as per newspaper reports which are credible & verifiable and other extraordinary activities/initiatives taken by the authorities at the station have been taken into account while evaluating the nomination of Mysore Railway station for this prestigious award.

Courtesy : Star Of Mysore