With elections to the State Legislative Assembly drawing closer, the city today witnessed hectic campaigning by candidates of all constituencies in the city who, accompanied by supporters, braved the hot sun seeking support from voters.

Chamaraja: Former Mayor Vasu (Congress) and H.S. Shankaralingegowda (JD-S) continued their brisk door-to-door campaigning.

Vasu, who started campaigning from 7.30 in the morning, undertook padayatra in Sarawathipuram. Later, he visited the Mysore Law Court complex where he met lawyers, clients and others and sought their support. He also visited Shivrampet and Devaraja Mohalla. Vasu was accompanied by former Mayors B.K. Prakash, Modamani, T.B. Chikkanna, M.C. Rajeshwari Puttaswamy and Sudha Basavegowda, wife of MDCC bank President C. Basavegowda.

JD(S) candidate H.S. Shankaralingegowda, who started campaigning at 8.30 am, conducted padayatra along with party leaders at Kuduremala, Vagdevinagar and Gangothri Layout in the morning. Later, he also visited the Mysore Court complex and sought the support of the lawyers and public present there. He was accompanied by JD(S) City President Rajanna and other party leaders.

N.R. Constituency: Congress candidate Tanveer Sait and JD(S) candidate Sandesh Swamy, contesting from N.R. Constituency, stepped up their campaign in the constituency today.

Sandesh Swamy, who began his campaign after offering prayers at Yeraganahalli Ganaptathi Temple,went on a brisk door-to-door campaign in the area. Party leaders Venkatappa, Madegowda, Rajendra, Satishgowda, Palahalli Devaraj, Prabhuraj and others were present.

Sitting MLA and Congress candidate Tanveer Sait carried out a brisk door-to-door campaign in Raghavendra Nagar. Congress leaders Shaukat Ali Khan, Arif and others accompanied him.

Meanwhile, women Congress activists of ward No. 56, led by Gowramma, carried out a door-to-door campaign seeking votes for Tanveer Sait in different areas.

N.R. BJP candidate B.P. Manjunath too undertook a brisk door-to-door poll campaign in Kyathamaranahalli, K.N. Pura, Nehru Nagar, Sathagalli and other localities. BJP leaders Chinnaswamy, Rangappa, Shivanna, Pankaja, Mangala and others accompanied him.

K.R. Constituency: Congress candidate for K.R. Constituency M.K. Somashekar went door-to-door in Chamundipuram and Vidyaranyapuram localities. Congress leaders T.S. Ravi-shankar, Vishwa and others accompanied him. Later, several local Veerashaiva community leaders joined Congress in the presence of Somashekar at a programme held in Chikka-mmaniketana Kalyana Mantap in Kuvempunagar.

Courtesy : Star Of Mysore