Mysore, Mar. 31 (RK&KMC)- Transport Minister R. Ashok performed Guddali Puja this morning for the Truck Terminal to be constructed beside the Bandipalya Ring Road in city.

The Terminal will ease the city's traffic congestion by diverting the heavy goods transport trucks out of the city and parking them in the Terminal.

The Terminal will have an administrative office, warehouses, commercial complex, fuel station, workshop, service station, tyre shop, weigh-bridge, spareparts shop, fire-extinguishers, Police out-post, a hospital, dormitories, toilets, eateries etc.

Work on the Terminal will be taken up by D. Devaraj Urs Truck Terminals Company Ltd. at a cost of Rs. 20.99 crore on a MUDA allotted 16.20 acre plot of land coming under Bandipalya and Nakanalli villages.

For the first phase work, Rs. 12.79 crore has been released.

The Terminal will have 98 sites,each measuring 22.75 metres x 6.75 metres where 150 trucks can be parked at a time.

City bus stand

Speaking to media persons on the sidelines of the function, Ashok ruled out the shifting of City Bus Stand from its existing location and convert it into a tonga and cycle stand.

"The proposal has been rejected by the State Government since the newly-constructed City Bus Stand is a JNNURM project funded and approved by the Centre," the Minister clarified and added that for any development programme undertaken by the State Government, Mysore was considered as the pilot city and hence, the city’s development was of prime concern for the State Govt.

"The Transport Department will be providing 10 new Mercedes Benz buses to ply between Mysore and Bangalore in two months time," announced Ashok and assured of making traveling by city buses more comfortable and passenger-friendly.

"The Truck Terminal is said to be the second in State, after the one at Yeshvanthpur in Bangalore," said Madhusudan, Truck Terminals Company Managing Director and added that the State Government proposed to construct similar terminals at Dharwad, Hospet, Bijapur and Hassan as well.

MLA Sathyanarayana, former Minister and MLA Tanveer Sait, Karnataka Housing Board Chairman G.T. Devegowda, Karnataka Exhibition Authority Chairman B.P. Manjunath, Mysore Local Lorry Owners’ Association President B. Kodandaram, Transport Department Secretary Shankaregowda, Transport Commissioner Bhaskar Rao and others were present.

Courtesy : Star Of Mysore