With all the aspiring candidates filing their nominations for the Assembly polls at their designated centres in the State, the scrutiny of nominations began at the respective centres for the four constituencies in the city this morning.

The scrutiny of nomination papers filed by candidates for K.R. Constituency ended at the MCC office this afternoon. The constituency saw a total of 39 nominations filed by 27 candidates until yesterday, the last day for filing nominations.

The nominations of two independent candidates Syed Ahmed and M. Mogannachar were rejected by Returning Officer K.M. Gayatri. The candidature of Syed Ahmed was rejected as he had not signed while that of Mogannachar was rejected as there were no proposers.

However, the ‘B’ form of BSR Congress candidate Jayaraj Hegde was rejected as the form did not bear the name of the candidate. But Hegde can contest as an independent candidate with a different symbol.

Candidates who have filed nomination papers for KR are: S.A. Ramdas (BJP), H.V. Rajeev (KJP), M.K. Somashekar (Congress), H. Vasu (JD-S), Jayaraj Hegde; Ramachandra (Samajwadi Party), M.S. Balaji (Ambedkar National Congress), former Mayor N. Prakash, M. Mogannachar, M. Mahesh, P.V. Ramdas, M. Somashekar, K.V. Rajiv, G.S. Harish, M. Pradeep Kumar, H.P. Udayshankar, A.J. Rajaneesh, H.R. Raghu, Nazarulla, L. Jagadish, M. Nataraj, C.K. Naveen, H.S. Nanjundaswamy, H.R. Suresh, Guruswamy, Syed Ahmed and C. Mohan Kumar, all contesting as Independents.

Chamundeshwari: Scrutiny of nominations filed for Chamundeshwari began under tight security at the Karnataka Agricultural Marketing and Research Institute on Hunsur Road in the presence of agents of the candidates in which Returning Officer B. Basavaraj and Tahasildar A. Naveen Joseph took part and details of the process would be known only later in the day.

Chamaraja: The constituency saw 25 candidates filing a total of 40 nomination papers at the MCC office centre. Those who have filed nominations are: H.S. Shankaralingegowda (JD-S), L. Nagendra (BJP), former Mayor Vasu (Congress), M. Umadevi (SUCI), M. Arun Gowda (KJP), former Mayor M. Bharathi (BSR-Congress), Akram Pasha (JD-U), M.S. Hemavathi (SP), Shabeer Mohd. Mustafa and Mohd. Fazlullah (SDPI), H. Kumar, N. Pradeep, Syed Abbas, M. Panchalingu, M.V. Srinivasa Mithra, H.S. Manjunath Shetty, T. Shivaram, former Corporator B. Vasudeva, Manoj Kumar, Sahib Ahmed, Akhil Ahmed, Ali Ahmed, M.C. Purushotham, Nayaz Ahmed and Mujid Ahmed, all Independents. After the scrutiny, nominations of all candidates were accepted. However, one set of nomination papers filed by Congress candidate Vasu was rejected as it did not bear his signature. Shabeer Mohd. Mustafa was declared as official SDPI candidate by Returning Officer P.G. Ramesh as he was first to file nomination.

N.R. Constituency: In all, 23 candidates had filed 31 nomination papers. The scrutiny was held at Chamundi Vihar Stadium. The nomination papers of 2 independent candidates Parashivamurthy and Mangalagowry were rejected. S.C. Joshi was the Returning Officer.

Courtesy : Star Of Mysore