The much talked about elections to the 224-member 14th Karnataka Legislative Assembly will be held between 8 am and 5 pm on May 5 and the counting of votes will be taken up on May 8.

Announcing this at a press conference in New Delhi yesterday, Chief Election Commissioner V.S.Sampath said that the Commission had prepared the schedule after taking into consideration all relevant aspects like climatic conditions, academic calendars and festivals.

Declaring that the model code of conduct would come into force into immediate effect, Sampath said that the poll notification would be out on April 10 and that last date for filing of nominations is April 17. The scrutiny of nominations will be held on April 18 and the last date for withdrawal of candidatures is April 20. Setting in motion the electoral process, the CEC said that about 4.2 crore Kannadigas are expected to cast their franchise in Electronic Voting Machines (EVM) at 50,446 polling booths set up for the purpose.

Of the 224 constituencies, 36 have been reserved for Schedule Castes and 15 been earmarked for Schedule Tribes, he said and added that the format for filing of affidavits regarding criminal backgrounds, assets, liabilities and educational qualifications of the candidates have been combined into one revised format in Form No. 26.

Continuing, he said that adequate number of observers— general, expenditure, police and micro observers would be deployed to ensure smooth conduct of the elections and added that the Commission expected all officials to discharge their duties in an impartial manner without fear and favour besides adding that the Commission will continuously monitor the process.

Poll Schedule

Notification of elections - April 10

Last date for filing of nominations - April 17

Scrutiny of nominations - April 18

Last date for withdrawal of nominations - April 20

Polling - May 5 between 8 am and 5 pm

Counting - May 8.

Courtesy : Star Of Mysore