With pro-tem Speaker Mallikayya Guttedar continuing with the process of administering oath of office and secrecy to the remaining 77 newly-elected members of the 224-member 14th Karnataka Legislative Assembly at Vidhana Soudha, the oath taking continued on the second day today.

Among those who took oath today were former Chief Minister H.D. Kumaraswamy and former Minister D.K. Shivakumar, who stayed away from the ceremony yesterday.

It may be recalled that 146 of the 223 MLAs took oath yesterday. While some took oath in the name of god, some others took oaths in the name of truth, parents, Dr.B.R.Ambedkar and 12th century sage Basavanna.

It may be recalled that elections to 223 out of 224 Assembly constituencies had been held on May 5 with election to Periyapatna constituency having been countermanded owing to the death of BJP candidate Sannamogegowda. The election was held on May 28.

Courtesy : Star Of Mysore