Congress party is all set to return to power in the State after a gap of seven years as it had won 118 seats out of 215, the results of which had been declared when we went to press at 2.30 pm.

Counting of votes were held at various centres across the State today for the votes polled in 223 constituencies in the 224-member 14th Legislative Assembly.

The elections had been held for 223 seats as the election to Periyapatna constituency was countermanded following the demise of BJP candidate Sanna Mogegowda. Polling for this seat will be held on May 28.

The ruling BJP, hit by factionalism and rebellion within, was staring at a dismal show, with its tally limited to 38 seats, sharply down from the 110 seats it won in the last election in 2008.

JD(S), having secured 38 seats, is vying with BJP to emerge as second largest party.

Meanwhile KJP had secured five seats, BSR four and others 12.

In Mysore district, out of the 10 Assembly constituencies, seven have been won by Congress — Krishnaraja, Narasimharaja, Chamaraja, Varuna, Nanjangud, T.N. Pura and Hunsur, while the JD(S) got three — Chamundeshwari, H.D. Kote and K.R. Nagar. Recounting was in progress for T. Narasipura as we went to Press.

Vasu wins Chamaraja

Former Mayor and Congress candidate Vasu wrested the Chamaraja Assembly constituency from four-time MLA H.S. Shankaralingegowda of JD(S) by a margin of 12,915 votes during the counting of votes which was taken up at SJCE centre here this morning.

The former Mayor, who led by a slender margin of 200 votes in the first round, kept on widening the margin in the subsequent rounds to emerge victorious securing 41, 930 votes as against 29, 015 votes secured by Shankaralingegowda who had won the seat four times in a row on a BJP ticket.

Meanwhile, BJP candidate and former MUDA Chairman L. Nagendra managed to get 26,168 votes.

M.K. Somashekar takes back Krishnaraja

Continuing the spree of the Congress emerging victorious in city and the State, former MLA and Congress candidate M.K. Somashekar humbled District In-Charge Minister and BJP candidate S.A.Ramdas, who was aiming to repeat his 2008 win and represent the constituency for the fourth time.

Somashekar, who established a narrow lead in the first round, surrendered the same to Ramdas in the subsequent round before bouncing back to establish an unassaible lead to ultimately register a win over Ramdas by a margin of over 6,886 votes.

Somashekar polled 52,528 votes as against 45,642 votes polled by Ramdas. Meanwhile, H.V. Rajeev of KJP and H.Vasu of JD(S) failed to impress voters.

Vasu, Somashekar attribute victory to Siddu

Speaking to Star of Mysore, both the newly-elected MLAs Vasu and M.K. Somashekar attributed their success to the growing popularity of Siddharamaiah who actively campaigned for them all along.

They also described their victories as the victory of the people who had rejected the corrupt BJP Government outright.

Tanveer Sait retains NR constituency

As expected, MLA and former Minister Tanveer Sait of Congress retained his seat by winning from Narasimharaja constituency with a comfortable margin of 8,372 votes against his nearest rival Abdul Majeed of Social Democratic Party of India (SDPI) who put up a brave show against all odds.

Tanveer Sait, who had completed a hat-trick of wins, was eyeing for his fourth consecutive win from the constituency and emerged victorious.

Abdul Majeed (SDPI), who emerged second, gave a tough fight till the mid-way while the counting was on. Sait gained a significant lead of more than 5,000 votes after the counting of votes of 103 booths was completed and never looked back to emerge victorious with a margin of 8,372 votes.

Meanwhile, former Mayor S. Satish (Sandesh Swamy), contesting on a JD(S) ticket had to be content with third place.

GTD wins Chamundeshwari

Putting a break to the spree of Congress victories in city, former Karnataka Housing Board Chairman and JD(S) candidate G.T. Devegowda (GTD) won the Chamundeshwari seat by a comfortable margin of nearly 7000 votes defeating his Congress rival and sitting MLA M. Sathyanarayana.

GTD, who established a narrow lead over Sathyanarayana in the first round, gradually kept up the momentum as the counting process continued to emerge victorious and finished the tally of more than 7000 votes against the votes polled by Sathyanarayana. BJP’s Hemanthkumar Gowda and KJP’s M. Appanna finished in the ruck.

GTD dedicates victory to HDK

Speaking to SOM, GTD said that he would make all efforts to solve the drinking water and UGD problems faced by the people of the constituency who blessed him within 25 days of him deciding to enter the fray from the constituency.

He also said that H.D. Kuma-raswamy’s achievements as CM had helped him to emerge victorious besides declaring that he would develop the constituency as a model constituency.


CM candidate Siddharamaiah of the Congress — maintaining a steady lead since the beginning, registered a resounding victory — defeating KJP candidate K.P. Siddalingaswamy with a comfortable margin of 35,000 votes. S.D. Mahendra of BJP trailed behind.

Nanjangud: Former Union Minister and sitting MLA V. Srinivasa Prasad (Congress) won from Nanjangud with a margin of 8,916 votes against Kalale N. Keshavamurthy of JD(S).

Speaking to SOM, Srinivas Prasad said that Congress party will form the Government on its own strength. When asked if he was an aspirant for ministerial berth, he said that he had already served as Minister at the Centre when he was an MP. I will not expect anything. Being the senior Minister of the Congress party, the high command will take appropriate decision.

T.N. Pura: Sitting MLA Dr. H.C. Mahadevappa (Congress) who polled 53,120 votes was declared winner by a narrow margin of 374 votes against his immediate rival M.C. Sudareshan (JD-S) who polled 52, 746 votes. However, Sundareshan immediately sought re-totaling, after which the same margin remained.

HD Kote: Former MLC Chikkamadu (JD-S) who polled 48,606 votes won by a margin of 12,498 votes defeating sitting MLA Chikkanna (Cong) who got 36,108 votes.

Speaking to SOM, Chikkamadu said that he switched over the constituency from Hunsur to HD Kote at the behest of senior leaders and thanked the voters for not letting him down.

Krishnaraja Nagar: As expected Sa.Ra. Mahesh (JD-S) won with a comfortable margin of 15,052 votes against his nearest rival Doddaswamegowda of Congress.

While, Mahesh polled in 81,457 votes, Doddaswamegowda polled 66,405 votes and KJP’s K.N. Basanth lost his deposit by polling in a mere 3827 votes.

Chamarajanagar: In the jinxed district of Chamarajanagar, the Congress party has won in all the four constituencies.

Former Minister Mahadeva Prasad retained his Gundlpet seat, Puttaranga Shetty won from Chamarajanagar constituency, H.Jayanna from Kollegal and R. Narendra from Hanur.

H.P. Manjunath (Congress) emerged victorious with a huge margin of 40,207 votes against his nearest rival Kumaraswamy (JD-S). Manjunath polled 83,930 votes while Kumaraswamy received 43,723 votes. He was followed by T. Rajanna (Ind) who polled in 12,637 votes while KJP’s Manjunath Urs had to be satisfied with fourth position receiving 9011 votes.

Courtesy : Star Of Mysore