Security around the two counting centres in city where Electronic Voting Machines (EVMs) used for Assembly polls yesterday have been kept, has been tightened.

The counting of votes for K.R. Nagar, Hunsur, Krishnaraja, Chamaraja and Narasimharaja constituency will be held at the Computer Science and Information Science Block, SJCE, Manasagangotri, while the counting of votes for Varuna, Nanjangud, T. Narasipura, Chamundeshwari and H.D. Kote Constituencies will be taken up at JSS College on Ooty road.

All arrangements have been made for smooth conduct of counting, including installation of CCTV cameras, guarding the strong room, patrolling, installation of metal detectors and sniffer dog team.

The candidates and their counting agents were today educated at the respective centres, on the procedures and rules and regulations to be followed on the day of counting (May. 8).

DC C. Shikha, who is also the District Electoral Officer and Police Commissioner K.L. Sudheer inspected the centres.

Apart from City Police, paramilitary forces including CRPF, BSF, ITBP are guarding the strong rooms where EVMs are kept.

No unauthorised persons are allowed inside the centres and only those holding passes are let in after screening, said Sudheer.

All necessary steps have been taken to ensure that no untoward incidents occur on the counting day, he added.

Courtesy : Star Of Mysore