The participation of Chief Minister in the inauguration of Dasara festivities atop Chamundi Hill is said to be a tradition started by former CM B.S. Yeddyurappa.

Usually, the Chief Minister used to participate in the inauguration of Jumboo Savari on the last day of Dasara festivities — Vijayadashami Day — at the Palace premises and not on the inaugural day at the hill temple.

Earlier, it used to be the privilege of the District In-Charge Minister to inaugurate Dasara at the Hill temple and later on, the honours were done either by renowned litterateurs, famous artistes or well-known achievers in different fields.

During the past six years, the Naada Habba was inaugurated by Dr. Balagangadharanatha Swamiji of Adichunchanagiri Mutt, Dr. Shivakumara Swamiji of Siddaganga Mutt, Sri Ravishankar Guruji of Art of Living Foundation, Dr. Veerendra Heggade of Dharmasthala, Sri Vishwesha Thirtha Swamiji of Pejawar Mutt and Sri Siddeshwara Swamiji of Jnana Yogaashram, Bijapur.

It was said that since Shobha Karandlaje, a close confidante of Yeddyurappa, was the Minister In-Charge for Mysore District, he, as the CM, took part in Dasara inauguration and also in the Dasara procession.

However, he continued with the ritual next year too when S.A. Ramdas was the District In-Charge Minister and the ritual was followed by successive Chief Ministers D.V. Sadananda Gowda and Jagadish Shettar.

This year, Siddharamaiah is going to continue the trend set by Yeddyurappa by participating in the Dasara inaugural atop Chamundi Hill on Oct. 5 and in Jumboo Savari on Oct. 14.

Courtesy : Star Of Mysore