S.K. Lakshminarayan (Babu) was elected as the new President of Jayachamaraja Wadiyar Golf Club (JWGC) at the 27th Annual General Body held at JWGC premises here yesterday.

In what was the highest attended AGMs, Lakshminarayan defeated G. Veer Mohan by securing 509 votes in a total of 705 votes polled during the election.

The other office-bearers who were elected unopposed are: G. Narasimha Murthy - Captain, Raghuveera Ponnuswamy- Hon. Secretary, Dr. Venkatesh Joshi - Hon. Treasurer.

There were three openings to the Playing Committee Membership for which five members contested. The three members, who were elected are: A. Anantha (521 votes), C.K. Subramani (512) and M.R. Mohan Kumar (471).

In the Non-Playing Committee Members' category, there were three openings for which nine aspirants contested.

The three who were elected are: A. Ashok Anand (346 votes), K. C. Biddappa (331) and C.S. Ravi Shankar (313), according to a press release from JWGC.

Courtesy : Star Of Mysore