Mysore, Aug.1 (KCU&RK)- The 179th birth anniversary of Dewan Rangacharlu was celebrated at a function organised under the joint auspices of Mysore City Corporation (MCC), Town Hall Committee and Kannada & Culture Department at Town Hall premises here today.

Mayor Sandesh Swamy, who inaugurated the programme, announced that the birth anniversary would be celebrated every year henceforth.

Lauding the services of late Rangacharlu as the first Dewan of Mysore, Sandesh Swamy said that a proposal would be placed before the Council to erect a statue of late Rangacharlu in front of the Town Hall which would immortalise his name for generations to come.

Rangacharlu awards were presented to 10 artistes namely D.G. Rao (Drama), Marisiddamma (Folklore artiste), S. Mallamma (Light music), Krupa Phadke (Bharathanatya), S. Puttannaiah (Theatre music), B. Neelegowda (Mythological plays), Kumaraswamy (Kamsale), Bannur Kempamma (Sobhana pada), Venkatacharya (Classical music) and Mandya Ramesh (Cinema).

Procession : Before the programme, a procession was taken out from Town Hall premises to Kote Anjaneyaswamy temple and back, with a portrait of late Rangacharlu placed atop a van. It was accompanied by an array of folk troupes with beating of the drums.

Courtesy : Star Of Mysore