The District Wing of Karnataka State Government Nurses' Association had organised a programme at Kalamandira here yesterday to mark Nurses' Day and presentation of Florence Nightingale awards to 12 Nursing Superintendents and Nursing School teachers and also Best Service awards to eight nurses.

Scholarship was distributed by the Association to 10 visually impaired students.

Inaugurating the programme, MLA M.K. Somashekar assured the nurses working at K.R. Hospital amid several odds to look into their demands and apprise the government of the same. He accepted a memorandum from the Association to be presented to the government.

Mysore Medical College and Research Institute Dean and Director Dr. Geetha K. Avadhani, District Health Officer Dr. S.M. Malegowda, Karnataka Govt. Employees Association District President H.K. Ramu, Nurses Association District President Shivamma, PKTB Sanatorium Medical Superintendent Dr. G.M. Kudari, KR Hospital Medical Superintendent Dr. B.G. Sagar, Cheluvamba Hospital Medical Superintendent Dr. B. Krishnamurthy and others were present.

Florence Nightingale awardees

E.P. Leela (Lecturer, Govt. Nursing School), Sugandi (Nursing Superintendent Gr. II), Senior Nurses Shanta Anandakumari, A. Sagai Mary, Nurses C.S. Devaki, E.P. Asha, Ramamani, R. Susheela, K.A. Chandramma, A.S. Parvati, Lalitha and Revathi.

Best Service awardees

Nurses Tulajabai, Shirley, B.T. Rathi, P.J. Saloni, Mahadevamma, N.M. Devaki, Philomena Shiromani and T.T. Mahalakshmi.

Courtesy : Star Of Mysore