Mysore City has received 125 buses under the Jawaharlal Nehru National Urban Renewal Mission (JNNURM) out of the funds for purchasing 2,100 buses given to Karnataka under the Central Government scheme, said State Transport Minister Ramalinga Reddy.

Speaking after inaugurating the fourth KSRTC bus depot at Vijayanagar in city, the Minister said that the State had received funding for purchasing 2,100 buses out of 8,000 buses distributed across the country for improving city transport.

Reddy said that Rs. 200 crore would be spent to take up new projects under his Ministry in Mysore division for which the State government has sought help from the Centre.

“KSRTC has introduced inter-city bus services in 28 cities in the State and is planning to extend such facilities wherever required in the coming days. The Intelligent Transport System (ITS) was introduced in Mysore City for the first time in the country in 169 bus shelters across the city. The same would be extended to Bangalore in 69 places and other cities like Hubli-Dharwad soon,” he said.

“In order to help the tourists and visitors during Dasara, KSRTC has taken up various services including packages for tourist spots in and around Mysore with additional services of 500 bus,” said the Minister.

The City Transport service got a new fleet of 30 Super Low Floor (SLF) buses yesterday. Buses from Vijayanagar Depot will be plying to Vijayanagar 3rd Stage, KHB Colony, L&T, Koorgalli, Basthipura, Hebbal choultry, Yelwal, K.R. Sagar, Sangam Bhandar, Bapuji Nagar, Dasanakoppalu, Bommanahalli, Huyilalu, Yadahalli, Tenkanakoplu, Kommegowdana Koppalu, Ramenahalli, Marayanahundi, G.B. Saragur, Seegalli, Halebeedu, Dadadakallahalli, Megalapura, Gopalapura, Beerihundi and Arasinakere villages.

Courtesy : Star Of Mysore