Amidst confusion and chaos, former MLA E. Maruti Rao Pawar was elected as the new President of Mysore City BJP Unit.

Former Minister and MLA C.T. Ravi announced the name of Maruti Rao Pawar even as several BJP workers took strong exception at the party meeting held at Pandit Narayanacharya Kalyana Mantap on Chamaraja Double road in the city yesterday.

Hundreds of party workers, who had arrived for the meeting, urged former Ministers C.T. Ravi, S.A. Ramdas and C.H. Vijayashankar, MLC Siddaraju and other leaders not to announce the name of the city BJP chief before taking them into confidence.

One group of workers, who raised slogans, demanded that Vokkaliga leaders be given importance in naming the city BJP Chief. However, the leaders began the meeting with the recitation of Vande Mataram. But the group which remained silent during the singing, returned to noise-making once the meeting formally began.

The group insisted on making either former MUDA Chairman L.Nagendra or Yashaswini Somasekhar as city President.

There were as many as 17 leaders in the race including Maruti Rao Pawar, Nagendra, Yashaswini Somasekhar, Corporators Ramprasad and Girish Prasad, Ninganna, B. Umesh, S. Somasekhar, Kashi Vishwanath Setty, Ganesh Rao, Ramesh, Thammaiah, Umesh, Narasimhamurthy and Nagesh.

After much debate, only three leaders Pawar, Nagendra and Somasekhar remained in the race and the party leaders after a three-hour discussion, ultimately opted for Pawar, considering his skills in organising the party and his ability to take all leaders into confidence in leading the party.

Meanwhile, Hemanth Kumar Gowda was unanimously elected as Mysore District (Rural) BJP President. There were nearly 20 leaders in the race to the post including former MLC C. Ramesh, former MYLAC Chairman M.V. Ravishankar, former ZAK Chairman N. Nanjundaswamy, former KEA Chairman S.D. Mahendra, ZP member Shivaram, District BJP General Secretary Hemanth Kumar Gowda, Nataraj, Totadappa Basavaraju, Jagadishgowda, Krishnappa Gowda, M. Dasaiah, Mirle Srinivas Gowda, Chandrasekhar, S.R. Gopal Rao, Sarvamangala, K.T. Gopal, Karohatti Mahadev and Devanur Pratap.

However, the leaders ultimately finalised the name of Hemanth Kumar Gowda, which was unanimously supported by other candidates in the fray. ZP member Shivaram was named as the General Secretary.

C.T. Ravi, speaking on the occasion, expressed confidence that Narendra Modi would be the next PM.

MLA Ranjan Appachu called upon the party workers to realise their responsibilities and strive hard to bring victory for BJP in the forthcoming Lok Sabha polls.

The newly-elected President Hemanth Kumar Gowda said he would forget his defeat from Chamundeshwari Constituency in the Assembly elections held in May last and would work hard to organise the party and bring victory in the LS polls.

MLA K.G. Bopaiah, former MLC S.G. Medappa, MLC C.H. Vijayshankar, former MLA A.R. Krishnamurthy, MLC Siddaraju, leaders Sulochana Bhat and others were present.

Courtesy : Star Of Mysore