The much-talked about Hunsur-Anechowkoor road, which had become utterly unmotorable for want of repairs since the past few years, finally is going to be repaired, starting today.

The road repair works were formally launched this morning by Speaker K.G. Bopaiah who performed guddali pujas on either sides of the Anechowkoor checkpost — one work from the checkpost towards Gonikoppa and another from the checkpost towards Hunsur town.

Speaking on the occasion, Bopaiah said that Rs. 100.50 crore worth of road repair works will be taken up and completed in 11 months’ time. Though the work was to commence a year ago, it was delayed due to technical reasons, he said.

The works include: 1. Asphalting of the road from Kallabetta turn of Hunsur taluk up to Anechowkoor checkpost at a cost of Rs. 33 crore; 2. Widening and development of the road from Anechowkoor to Gonikoppa town via Thithimathi (Rs. 10.5 crore); 3. Development of Virajpet-Talacauvery road (Rs. 17 crore); 4. Development of Virajpet-Somwarpet road (Rs. 33 crore); 5. Development of Ponnampet-Kutta road (Rs. 7 crore).

Both Speaker k.G. Bopaiah and Hunsur MLA H.P. Manjunath said that Star of Mysore played a major role in prodding them to get funds sanctioned for this road which had become severely dilapidated in the recent years.

“We are grateful to Star of Mysore Editor-in-Chief K.B. Ganapathy for persistently pursuing the road repair issue through articles in the newspaper and through phone conversations,” said Bopaiah.

Manjunath added, “The series of reports in Mysooru Mithra, sister publication of Star of Mysore, made us to sit up and take action.”

Manjunath also lauded the efforts of Speaker Bopaiah and Legislator Appachu Ranjan in getting the road repaired.

Bopaiah said that funds for the road works were sanctioned months ago and since the works will not be taking place in Hunsur Town Municipal Council limits and other towns where Urban Local Bodies elections are to take place, it will not amount to violation of the poll code of conduct.

A large number of people from Kodagu had gathered at the venue to witness the guddali puja ceremony, including office-bearers of Mysore Kodava Samaja, led by its President N.P. Kalappa, Virajpet constituency BJP spokesperson A.C. Cariappa, Virajpet Taluk Panchayat President Arun Bheemaiah, Kodagu ZP members and others.

Courtesy : Star Of Mysore