GSSS Institue of Engineering & Technology for Women (GSSSIETW) will be conducting a three-day annual sports & cultural fest Geethayaana-2013 with the theme ‘Enter the Grid of Xuberanz’ on Mar. 14, 15 and 16.

The fest will be inaugurated by actor Mandya Ramesh and University of Mysore PE Director Dr. C Krishna on Mar.14. Institute President Jagannatha Shenoi will preside. Hon. Secretary Vanaja B. Pandit will be present. The fest will start with a Flash Mob followed by dancing to the beats of Dandia. There will also be breathtaking stunts by bikers. The ‘Wall of Geethayaana-2013’ in the campus has been artistically designed. Geethayaana Sports with cricket will see staff teams fighting it out. A Cyberdrome is set up where all can have a go at the latest cyber games. Chefs from elite restaurants have judged the mouth-watering preparations of students who exhibited their culinary skills in “Rasoi Magic” - Cooking without fire.

The highlights of the Geethayaana-2013 are: On day 1- Sur Kshetra (Game of Hindi Antakshari), Film Hits (Hunt for best singer of Kannada & Hindi film hits), Divine Tunes (Bhakthigeethe), Treasure Hunt (Series of puzzles to be solved to reach the destination within the given time), Nach Baliye (Solo & Duet Dance competition for students of various colleges), Say it with Paper (Collage competition), Rock Band (Performance by popular Rock Band of Mysore), Slow Scooter Race and Pencil Sketch competition.

On Day 2: Bit Story (Skit), Gallu Gallenutha (Folklore event), Bhavageethe, Mehandi, Quiz, Nail Art (Painting of micro designs on nails), Movers & Shakers (Group dance competition), English & Kannada essay writing competition, Swarayaana (Kannada Anthakshari), Hanigavana (Spinning poetry in Kannada). Geethayaana-2013 concludes with fashion show and Miss Geethayaana-2013 contest by the students of the college at M. Govinda Rao Memorial Hall.

On Day 3: To appreciate the efforts of merited students, toppers of each branch/semester are encouraged by presenting Toppers awards. Also, the faculty members who have achieved 100% result in various subjects will be honoured. Prizes will be distributed in the valedictory function at 10 am by chief guests Vid. Sridhar Jain, Founder, Nimishamba Dance School and H.R. Leelavathi, former President, Karnataka Sangeetha Nritya Academy.

Courtesy : Star Of Mysore