This year’s Dr. Ragow award will be presented to litterateur Dr. Shivaramu Kadanakuppe at a programme to be held at 5.30 pm on April 3 at Rajendra Bhavan in JSS Hospital premises here.

Disclosing this at a press meet at Pathrakarthara Bhavan here yesterday, Mandya Karnataka Sangha President Jayaprakash Gowda said: “The award will be presented by litterateur Dr. Hampa Nagarajaiah. Progressive Thinker H.L. Keshavamurthy will preside and Vidyavardhaka College’s Hindi Professor B. Chandrashekar will deliver the felicitation address. Dr. A. Ranagaswamy and Publisher D.N. Lokappa will be the chief guests.

The award instituted in honour of eminent researcher, critic and folklore expert Dr. Ramegowda (Ragow) would carry a cash prize of Rs. 15,000 and a plaque. The earlier recipients of the award were Moodnakudu Chinnaswamy, Srikanta Kodige, Veeranna Dande and Dr. Karigowda Beechanahalli. Dr. Hampana will also release the book ‘V.K. Gokak-Hatthu Adhyayana’ on the occasion.

Shivaramu Kadanakuppe is a well-known critic, poet, novelist and columnist engaged in several social and cultural movements.

Sangha office-bearers H.V. Jayaram, Lokappa, Dr. Ramegowda and Dr. Somashekar were present.

Courtesy : Star Of Mysore