The Dasara Half Marathon was flagged off by MLA M.K. Somashekar at the Jayamarthanda Gate of Mysore Palace at 7.30 am today. The Dasara Sports Sub-Committee members and DYES officials were also present on the occasion.

It seems that the event has lost its charm as there were only about 40 participants in all, for the Rs. 4.28 lakh cash to be given away as prizes. Earlier, there used to be hundreds of enthusiastic participants for this event which used to be inaugurated by a celebrity sportsperson.

The Dasara Half Marathon for men (21.1 km) was won by Santosh Kumar, Western Railways, Mumbai, with a timing of 01:07:08s while local girl Thippavva Sannaki of South Western Railways, Mysore, won the race for women (21.1 km) with a timing of 01:21:00s in the races which concluded at the Jayamarthanda Gate of Mysore Palace at 9 am today.

Running at a good pace the Railwayman from Mumbai, Santosh Kumar, led from the front and kept second placed B.C. Tilak of ADA, Jhodpur and a native of Madikeri at bay for most of the time, but the latter came back strongly to come a close second with a timing of 01:07:09s. Ajay Kumar of Bangalore took third place with a timing of 01:08:70s.

Santosh won a cash prize of Rs.40, 000 while the second and third place winners secured Rs. 35,000 and Rs.30,000 respectively.

The fourth to seventh place finishers will get cash prizes of Rs.25,000, 20,000, 15, 000, 10,000 respectively while the eighth to the tenth place winners will get Rs.5000 each (both in the men’s and women’s section).

In the women’s section, Thippavva Sannakki ran a good paced race and led from the front to win in style and bag a cash prize of Rs.40,000. Shabeena of Shimoga secured the second place with a timing of 01:31:35s and she was followed by K.M. Archana of Alva’s, Moodabidri who finished with a timing of 01:37:29s. There were only five runners who finished in the women’s section.

In the College Boys 12km race, B.S. Krishnappa of Dharwas won the title with a timing of 42m:07:00s and secured a cashprize of Rs.5,000. S.K. Mahantesh of Belgaum took second place with a timing of 42m:52:00s, while Lingaraj of Dharwad secured third place.

Sharaddha Rani S. Desai of DYES, Mysore, won 6 km race with a timing of 25m:37:48s. M. Manjula of T.N. Pura finished second (25:47:50s), while B.K. Supritha of Alva’s, Moodabidri secured third (27:07.49s).

P.P. Prakash of Alva’s Moodabidri won High School Boys (6km) race (23m:57:00s). Nandakumar of Mysore finished second (24m:21:00s) and H.S. Basavaraj of Alvas, Moodabidri took third (25m:37:00s).

Courtesy : Star Of Mysore