Dasara Preparation and Cleaning Sub-Committee, in association with MCC Standing Committee on Health and Hygiene released posters to create awareness on maintaining cleanliness during Dasara.

The event was held in front of Dufferin Clock Tower opposite Devaraja Market. The posters were released by MLA Vasu. Later, Vasu and Deputy Commissioner Shikha distributed the posters among the vendors, creating awareness not to dump wastes on road but to hand-segregate the waste and hand it over to Pourakarmikas.

Later, the team arrived at the Shivarampet Road where the vendors took them to a road located next to Nanjundeshwara Temple. The vendors said though several complaints had been filed, no action had been taken to cleanse the road which was located right next to the road from which Jumboo Savari passes through. The entire road was mess as people dumped waste and also urinated at the place. The vendors said they were unable to sit in their shopsbecause of the stench.

Soon, the Pourakarmikas were called in and were asked to clean the area immediately. The team also visited the road located behind Lansdowne building, which was in the same condition.

Later, MLA Vasu told media persons that he had accompanied DC Shikha and MCC Commissioner P.G. Ramesh to this place. “While the roads on which Jumbo Savari passes are kept clean, the area located behind are neglected”, he added.

MLA Tanvir Sait will launch the Special Task Force comprising of 280 Pourakarmikas who would take up cleaning works round the clock. The inauguration of Special Task Force will be held in front of Kote Anjaneya Swamy Temple at 9 pm today.

The committee has also organised a cleanliness rally on Oct. 7 in which the spiritual heads of various religions will participate. The rally will be flagged off by Sri Shivarathri Deshikendra Swamiji in front of the Kote Anjaneya Swamy Temple at 9 am.

Sir Khazi Maulana Syed Usman Sharif, Bishop of Mysore Rev Dr. Thomas A. Vazhapilly, Valmiki Maha Samsthana Mutt Seer Sri Prasannandapuri Mahaswamy, Adi Chunchanagiri Mutt, Mysore Branch Head, Sri Somanatheshwara Swamiji, Kaginele Mutt, Mysore Branch Head, Sri. Shivanandapuri Swamiji, Shivayogi Mahasamsthana Mutt Seer Sri Jnanaprakash Mahaswamiji, Siddeshwara Mahasamsthana Mutt Seer Immadi Siddeshwara Mahaswamiji, District In-charge Minister V. Sreenivasa Prasad, PWD Minister Dr. H.C. Mahadevappa, Co-operation Minister Mahadevaprasad and others will be present

Courtesy : Star Of Mysore