The casting of votes for by-polls to the Mysore-Chamarajanagar Local Authorities constituency of the Karnataka Legislative Council began today at 11 centres, including the Mysore City Corporation (MCC).

A total of 7,010 voters including 2,963 women are likely to cast their franchise at 243 polling booths in Mysore district and 125 in Chamarajanagar district to elect their representative to the Council from among three candidates in the fray.

In many booths of various Gram Panchayats in both the districts, more than 70% voter-turnout was registered by noon itself and villagers were found to be keen to get back to work after performing their duties of voting.

In what appears to be a triangular contest at the outset, the election appears to be a straight fight between Congress candidate Dharmasena and KJP candidate U.S. Shekhar who is enjoying the support of JD(S) and BJP, as part of a poll pact reached with the aim of defeating the Congress candidate in CM Siddharamaiah’s home turf.

Ayub Khan is the independent candidate who is taking on Dharmasena and Shekhar.

Apart from the MCC, the polling of votes which began at 8 am this morning will conclude at 4 pm at the Taluk Offices in Periyapatna, K.R. Nagar, Hunsur, H.D. Kote, Nanjangud, T.N. Pur, Gundulpet, Chamarajanagar, Yelandur and Kollegal.

Preferential vote

Each voter has to vote in the order of preference of 1, 2 and 3 marked with a sketch pen.

The counting of votes will be held on Aug. 26 from 8 am at the JSS College of Arts and Science on Ooty road and results will be declared the same day.

Caste-wise break-up

Among the elected representatives to vote in the by-polls are 1,100 Vokkaligas, 900 Lingayats, 800 Kurubas, 1,100 SC (right), 400 SC (left), 1,100 ST and 1,173 others.

Courtesy : Star Of Mysore