Today being the last day to file the nomination papers to the by-poll for Legislative Council seat (MLC) from Mysore-Chamarajanagar Local Authorities Constituency, candidates from Congress, BJP and KJP filed their nomination papers with Additional Deputy Commissioner Naga Nayak, who is also the Assistant Election Officer.

BJP candidate Yeshaswini Somashekar was accompanied by former District In-charge Minister S.A. Ramdas, former MLA A.R. Krishnamurthy, former MLC Thontadarya and MLC Siddaraju while submitting his papers.

Congress candidate R. Dharmasena arrived at the Deputy Commissioner’s office in a procession from the City Congress office on Sayyaji Rao Road and filed his nomination papers.

Dharmasena was accompanied by City Congress President C. Dasegowda, former MLA M. Satyanrayana, former Mayors Modamani, T.B. Chikkanna, Pushpalatha Chikkanna and others.

KJP candidate U.S. Shekar also filed his nomination today accompanied by former MLC Prof. K.R. Mallikarjunappa, KJP leaders K.P. Siddalingaswamy, H.V. Rajiv, B.M. Ramu and others.

Ayub Khan, State President of Samajawadi Rakshana Vedike, also filed his nomination at the DC’s office.

JD(S) refrains: Interestingly, JD(S), which is the main opposition party in the State Assembly, has not fielded any candidate for the upcoming election and the move is said to be a part of its game plan to defeat the Congress candidate by supporting either the BJP or KJP candidate.

Courtesy : Star Of Mysore