The 8th cogNIEscience event, a national- level student technical paper presentation contest organised by the Department of Mechanical Engineering, was held on May 11 at the National Institute of Engineering (NIE) here.

The event was inaugurated by K.R. Ramesh, Senior Vice-President, Rane Madras Ltd.

S.R. Subba Rao, Dr. G.L. Shekar, Principal and Dr. N.V.Raghavendra, Professor and Head of Dept. of Mechanical Engineering were present.

Speaking on the occasion, Ramesh said that in early 80s, Technical Paper presentation was limited to those pursuing their Doctoral programmes, whereas the opportunity today is open right at the UG level. The participation of students from different States for this event clearly endorsed that students studying in any part of the country are aware of the importance and are waiting for a platform to present their ideas.

He said though new ideas are born out of curiosity and initial recognition, it is worth while looking at the journey of these ideas to market in the form of a product or service, for the final benefit of society at large.

Subba Rao hoped that NIE will extend this opportunity for students on a global level soon.

Dr. G.L.Shekar said that students of NIE were applying for nearly 5 such patents from NIE. He explained that innovation is the key to technology management and cited the examples of global companies, who have, by innovation created new markets for their products.

Stating that creativity culture inculcated to students’ right at UG level will assist the industry, he said that engineering colleges have to shoulder this major responsibility and not shy away.

The 36 papers shortlisted from all 4 streams of Design, Manufacturing, Automobile and Thermal were presented at the event. Prizes and certificates to participants were distributed by S.L. Ramachandra, Secretary, NIE Managing Committee.

The event winners are M. Senthilmurugan from Anna University, Chennai, in Automobile Engineering; Abhiram B. Aithal and Anirudh G. Deshpande from MSRIT, Bangalore, in Thermal Engineering, Ashik Mohan and Srikar U. C. Pejathaya from NIE, Mysore, in Manufacturing Engineering; Maruti B. Koligudd and C.M. Murali Krishna from SIT, Tumkur, in Design Engineering.

Courtesy : Star Of Mysore