By visiting this district today, Chief Minister Siddharamaiah challenged the years-old jinx that any CM who visits Chamarajanagar loses power within six months. The rumour of the jinx began after former CMs S.R. Bommai and Veerendra Patil lost their posts after visiting Chamarajanagar.

Though Jagadish Shettar and H.D. Kumaraswamy had also visited Chamarajanagar during their tenures as CMs, local politicians claimed that the duo visited the town only when they were certain of relinquishing the post.

However, Siddu’s visit has drawn attention as he is visiting the jinxed town barely five months after assuming charge as the CM, with four-and-a-half more years left in office. Even Ministers used to avoid visiting the town in view of the “jinx.”

It was an emotional welcome accorded to Siddharamaiah by the people of Chamarajanagar as thousands stood on both sides of the 20-km-long road from Chamarajanagar town to Heggavadi village, the native place of MP R. Dhruvanarayan. As the CM’s entourage comprising more than 100 vehicles passed by, people showered petals and greeted them with folded hands, waving arms and shouting slogans.

Speaking to press persons after inaugurating the newly constructed Dr. B.R. Ambedkar Bhavan in the village, the CM pooh-poohed the talk about Chamarajanagar being jinxed and said that such superstitions were created by human beings.

“Though other CMs had visited the town, it was towards the end of their office; but you have come soon after becoming the CM…” asked a reporter, to which he replied, “Didn’t we come to these people seeking votes. Now that they have voted for us, it is our duty to serve them. For me, the welfare of poor is of higher priority than staying in power.”

When asked if he would blame Chamarajanagar if he lost power within next six months, Siddharamaiah said, “Don’t worry, such a situation would never arise.”

Revenue Minister V. Sreenivasa Prasad, PWD Minister Dr. H.C. Mahadevappa, Cooperation Minister H.S. Mahadeva Prasad, Social Welfare Minister H. Anjaneya, Chamarajanagar MLA Puttaranga Shetty, Kollegal MLA S. Jayanna, Hanur MLA R. Narendra and others were present on the occasion.

Courtesy : Star Of Mysore