With the objective of encouraging tobacco farmers, 15 tobacco growers from Karnataka and Andhra Pradesh were presented awards by the Tobacco Institute of India (TII), New Delhi, at a function held today at Smt. Saraswathi Convention Hall at KHB Colony in Hootagalli near here.

The awards were presented by Co-operation Minister H.S. Mahadeva Prasad, who inaugurated the function.

Speaking on the occasion, he said that tobacco farmers need encouragement in maintaining quality and get higher yield.

“A majority of tobacco is being grown in Hunsur, Periyapatna and Arkalgud taluks of the State,” he said and appealed to the Tobacco Board and the TII to work towards securing better rates for the tobacco crop, while recalling that he had earlier met Union Commerce Minister Kamalnath in this regard.

Hunsur MLA H.P. Manjunath, speaking on the occasion, said that Andhra tobacco growers were far more happy than the Karnataka growers as they were getting better rates. Claiming that the farmers of Karnataka are in severe debts, he called upon the Tobacco Board to come to their rescue.

MP A.H. Vishwanath presided. District In-Charge Minister V. Sreenivasa Prasad, MLC C.H. Vijayashankar and Periyapatna MLA K. Venkatesh also spoke on the occasion.

While five tobacco growers including one from Hunsur taluk were presented Best Farmer Award, nine others including three from Mysore district and one from Hassan district were presented Recognition Awards. One grower of Kampalapur in Periyapatna taluk was presented Lifetime Achievement Award for growing a record 1,994 kgs of tobacco per hectare. TII Director Udayan Lal was present.

IPH’s plea goes unheard

Despite a plea made by the Bangalore-based Institute of Public Health (IPH) that the elected representatives must stay away from the function, two Ministers, an MP, two MLAs and an MLC were present. The IPH had pointed out that their participation would amount to promoting the harmful tobacco.

Courtesy : Star Of Mysore