With the fates of candidates contesting for State Assembly to be decided in less than a day, the district administration has ensured that all arrangements are in place for smooth enumeration process and declaration of results of 10 Assembly constituencies of Mysore district.

Deputy Commissioner C. Shikha, functioning as District Electoral Officer (DEO), addressed a media conference at JSS College on Ooty road in city, which is one of the two counting centres. The other counting centre is at Sri Jayachamarajendra College of Engineering (SJCE).

At the SJCE, votes polled at K.R. Nagar, Hunsur, Krishnaraja, Chamaraja and Narasimharaja constituencies will be counted while at the JSS college, votes polled at Varuna, Nanjangud, T. Narasipura, Chamundeshwari and H.D. Kote will be counted.

Tight vigil is in place at both centres with patrolling around two kms radius of the centres.

Sale of liquor will be prohibited from this midnight till tomorrow midnight.

Apart from the 800 Civil Police personnel, 10 CAR, 10 Mounted Police platoons, CRPF and Paramilitary forces will be deployed to ensure law and order during the counting process.

Counting of votes for all the 10 constituencies shall commence simultaneously from 8 am tomorrow. The postal votes shall be counted first.

Different coloured passes will be issued to the counting agents of candidates, the media persons and staff assigned with counting duties. Those who are allowed into the counting centres will not be permitted to use mobile phones, cameras and will not be allowed to move in and out of the centres till the counting process is complete.

Every constituency will be provided with 10 to 14 tables where 11 to 12 rounds of counting will be held and announcements will be made on the public address system after every round. Media centres have been provided at both counting centres.

Parking spaces have been provided for the staff and public will not be allowed within the premises of both educational institutions where counting is to be held.

City Police Commissioner K.L. Sudheer, MUDA Commissioner Dr. C.G. Betsurmath, Information Department Deputy Director A.R. Prakash and other officials were present.

Courtesy : Star Of Mysore